Design Awards 2017

The AIA Santa Barbara Design Awards program recognizes design excellence in architecture, residential architecture, restoration/renovation, and urban design. Criteria to be used by the jury include quality of design, resolution of the program idea, sustainable responsibility, innovation, thoughtfulness, and technique.

On Saturday, December 9, 2017 the jury selected the following 5 projects, for exceptional design excellence.

Honorable Mention:

Blackbird ArchitectsLive Oak Bathhouse
Category: Commercial, Mixed Use & Multi Family

Blackbird Architects
Photographer: Matt Wier

AB Design Studio, Inc.MOXI Wolf Museum
Category: Commercial, Mixed Use & Multi Family

AB Design Studio, Inc.
Photographer: Patrick Price


Thomas Bollay Architects, Inc.Casa del Arroz
Category: Santa Barbara Architectural Heritage

Thomas Bollay Architects, Inc.

Photographer: Thomas Bollay, AIA


DMHA Architecture1100 Santa Barbara St.
Category: Santa Barbara Architectural Heritage

DMHA Architecture

Photographer: Jim Bartsch


Ferguson-Ettinger ArchitectsTeahouse
Category: Residential

Ferguson-Ettinger Architects

Photographer: Ferguson-Ettinger Architects

2017 Jurors:

John BurgeeJohn Burgee, FAIA
John Burgee, born in 1933, is an American architect renowned for his collaboration with Philip Johnson which resulted in the design and construction of a number of seminal highrise buildings of the Postmodern era. John Burgee is a 1956 graduate of University of Notre Dame, USA, School of Architecture. Burgee served on Notre Dame's Board of Trustees from 1988 until April when he was named trustee emeritus.

In 1968, Burgee established Johnson/Burgee Architects in Manhattan in partnership with the architect Philip Johnson. Over the years, their practice realized a large number of highrise buildings, many of them in Texas where they cooperated with the Texan real estate entrepreneur Gerald D. Hines, and New York. Notable are the AT&T (now Sony) Building which became an icon of postmodern architecture, the Pennzoil Place in Houston, the IDS Centre in Minneapolis and the Lipstick Building in New York.

Marlon BlackwellMarlon Blackwell, FAIA
Marlon Blackwell, FAIA, is a practicing architect in Fayetteville, Arkansas, and serves as the E. Fay Jones Distinguished Professor at the Fay Jones School of Architecture + Design at the University of Arkansas. Marlon is integrally involved in every phase of the design process, from programming through construction administration, for every project Marlon Blackwell Architects pursues. He is involved on a daily basis, working to establish the design direction and works directly with client leadership on critical issues, ensuring a successful outcome and meaningful relationship. As our references will attest, Marlon is accessible and involved. His keen attention to detail and design rigor ensure the success of every project, evident in his acclaim as an architect and educator.

The office of Marlon Blackwell Architects received the 2016 Cooper Hewitt National Design Award in Architecture and ranked #1 in Design as part of the Architect 50, a national survey of architecture firms. In 2011, Marlon Blackwell Architects was recognized as the Firm of the Year by Residential Architect Magazine. The firm has earned an international design reputation through recognition of its work in many publications, including architectural design journals and books, and receiving more than 120 design awards including state, regional, national and international awards.

Tom FowlerTom Fowler, AIA
Director Graduate Program, Architecture at Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo
Distinguished Professor of the ACSA
Director Community Interdisciplinary Design Studio (CIDS)

Thomas' practice experience includes working for Davis Brody Architects in New York City, and Hartman Cox in Washington, DC. He has also served as Associate Head of Cal Poly's Architecture Department from 2001 – 2007, served as the ACSA's Secretary to the Board, 2004 – 2006, has been appointed to serve on the National Architectural Accreditation Board (NAAB) as an ACSA representative from 2007 – 2009, and has had extensive experience in participating on NAAB visitation teams to 14 programs (4 of these he chaired) around the country.

During his career he has received a number of awards in recognition of his teaching and research activities, which includes: College of Architecture & Environmental Design Westley Ward Teaching Award, 2007, Architecture Department's Faculty Teaching Award, 2005, "Young Faculty Teaching Award, ACSA/AIAS, 1996-'97", Nominated by Cal Poly's College of Architecture in both 2001 and 2000 for U.S. Professor of the Year Award, and "Young Architects Selection", Progressive Architecture Magazine, July 1994.

The Lutah Maria Riggs Presidents Award

The Lutah Maria Riggs Presidents Award recognizes an AIA Santa Barbara member or firm whose work, community service and civic engagement have had a lasting influence for the betterment of Santa Barbara's built environment. Recipients must have both a body of distinguished architectural design and a history of advocacy for community architectural engagement in the area.

The American Institute of Architects, Santa Barbara is proud to have selected to local architect and community leader, Brian Cearnal, AIA, LEED AP for the Lutah Maria Riggs Award. Cearnal, founding partner of The Cearnal Collective, a local and distinguished architectural firm, has been an integral part of the Santa Barbara architectural community since 1980; demonstrating consistently throughout this time a strong dedication to beautiful and significant architecture and community leadership.
Click here for the Press Release for the Lutah Maria Riggs Presidents Award

Brian Cearnal
Design Awards Sponsors


DD Ford

American Riviera Bank

Ann Kale Associates